Peter Pan (2003)

 

peter_pan_ver2

The American/Canadian Theatrical release poster

Directed by: P.J. Hogan

Screenplay by: P.J. Hogan and Michael Goldenberg

Starring: Jason Isaacs, Jeremy Sumpter, Rachel Hurd-Wood, Olivia Williams

Genre: Fantasy

Running Time: 109 minutes

Release Date: December 25, 2003 (United States and Canada)

Based on: J.M. Barrie’s Peter and Wendy

Synopsis: The Darling family children receive a visit from Peter Pan, who takes them to Never Never Land where an ongoing war with the evil Pirate Captain Hook is taking place.

My Review

If anyone would ask me my favorite movie of all time, I would simply give them a smile and reply: “Peter Pan, the 2003 version”

This movie has a special place in my heart. I don’t know how many times I’ve watched it–I lost count. I have seen it numerous times that I would occasionally quote the whole movie. I never get tired of watching it because it gives me THE feels–nostalgia, happiness, sadness, relief, carefree, excitement all at once it makes my heart explode with all kinds of emotions.

Everything was perfect. Absolutely perfect!

Sure Once Upon A Time is my favorite TV Series and I enjoyed the first half of the third season, ‘The Neverland’ story arc and it was nice to see them have fun and twist things up in the original plot line of the story but some where a bit off. I also enjoyed the movie ‘Pan’ but some details in the movie were just inaccurate. To sum up, this is the best Peter Pan movie adaptation I’ve seen.

Jeremy Sumpter’s portrayal of Peter Pan was absolutely perfect. He’s cocky, fun, carefree and adventurous. I was quite surprised to find out that this movie is Rachel Hurd-Wood’s first acting gig because the way she portrayed the sweet and charming Wendy Darling was impressive, it seemed like she’s been acting for years.

tumblr_m7isdw3aNx1qgpagco10_r1_250.gif

Another reason why I love this movie is because of its soundtrack, particularly the instrumental song ‘Flying’. This might sound weird or funny but when I listen to the song it lifts my spirits and it makes me feel like I’m flying my way to Neverland. Now, every time I hear it–even just the first melody of the song, a grin appears on my lips and I would forget about what I’m doing and just imagine the scenes from the movie and instantly feel nostalgia hitting me.

Of all the Peter Pan adaptations this is my favorite because Peter Pan and Wendy Darling’s relationship captured my heart. When I first saw the movie as a kid, I didn’t quite pay attention to the  two characters. But as I got older, I realized the hidden feelings they have for each other and how complicated it is. Part of Peter Pan’s riddle is he can’t feel love; and to fall in love is a sign of growing up. I pity Wendy for falling for a boy who cannot feel love. What hurts the most is a one-sided love–a love unrequited. Sure Peter did show sweet gestures to Wendy that might give a hint that he likes her too but like I said he’s a boy who can’t love. To him, love is like a child’s play–playing mother and father to the lost boys, thinking that love only extends to his knowledge of it through the stories Wendy tells, but just like what Wendy said: “There is so much more”

200_s-1

The storyline was great, the directing was great, the acting was great, the effects and musical score was great. Everything in this movie is perfect.

P.S. This is the last movie I saw before turning sixteen. I planned it because I knew that once I turn sixteen life will get harder and it’s gonna make me miss when life was just easier (Whoa, got too deep there). Anyway, I spent my last hours of being a fifteen year old watching my favorite movie (That left me in tears) about a boy who never grows up.

If you haven’t seen the movie yet, I highly recommend you guys to watch it because it is absolutely worth it–it’s not a waste of time. It might also bring back some childhood memories.

Thank you! Leave a reply, rate and never stop dreaming 🙂

 

3694060_orig.gif

 

Leave a Reply

